First Week in Texas-LEWISVILLE

Here is Josh’s latest email:
Ok so I’m going to try and answer everything in the time I have πŸ™‚
So my comp is Elder Long. He is from Idaho, 20, been out 13 months today. A little taller than me and skinnier..which is weird and I didn’t think that it was possible. He’s the oldest out of the kids in his family. He is really really really pessimistic. Grandma would have fun with him!!!! hahah I’m only being optimistic here, that’s one of my main goals, so it’s interesting. πŸ™‚ Oh and he has some weird disease where his intestines basically are eating themselves and he also has been in car accidents so his neck is messed up. Apparantly mexican food is horrible for him and he actually shouldn’t be on a mission but he really wants to be. So he refused to go to the doctor because he knows he’d be sent home.
My apartment is alright size. Kitchen, laundry closet, main room, bathroom, and one bedroom with a walk in closet. I have pictures but I can’t send them yet because I need more pictures to send you! And I need to figure out a good time to actually be able to drop off a letter here. Everything was easier in the MTC. So I do laundry in our apartment and thank you for the food! I did have some mac and cheese and the first day I was here we went to walmart for me to get food. I got some random stuff but I had to get a blender $15 and protein. I have been deprived! The protein from walmart isn’t too good but hey, its protein.
Guess what the first meal I had was with a family……….. I dont’ remember the name but it was Pork Spine in a spicy soup. I choked it down. Bones were floating around in it. We only had that set up but after church yesterday we now have a meal set up everyday for the next 6 weeks……please, PLEASE, pray for me!!!!!!!!!!
My mission pres is cool. Very strict to the book though. Doesn’t really care too much about what happens to us.
I’m actually in a car. Most spanish missionaries are in a car. But we have to have a bike day once a week. But we can’t have that because Elder Long’s bike is broken.
Oh another thing. Out appartment is a mess. It’s like its never been cleaned. So I’m going OCD on it today and cleaning because nothing is organized and things just get lost. The trash hasn’t even been taken out for weeks. You’d honestly probably hate it. Anyway…
CD’s and GPS! Please send CD’s!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We need good music to listen to. Oh and anything that actually is good and invites the Spirit and makes us think about Christ is good. So like even if you got Jon Schmidt CD’s that’d be awesome cuz its just piano! The GPS is good but Elder Long has one so I haven’t had to use mine yet. But I know I eventually will.
The weather is good. Kinda cold actually. I’ve been wearing the jacket Gma got me everyday! It’s also been raining off and on which is nice. Umm…. I go to a Branch and the Branch is actually in the Dallas Mission…..so we have to go outside of the mission to go to church. It’s only like a 20 min drive so its not bad. Our area is actually really big but we’re only allowed to drive 1100 miles every month so we don’t go that far from the apartment. I have a feeling like we need to go tracting in other areas that haven’t been tracted before but its too far so we dont because its uncertain if people will be there……
Spanish is coming along. The people are really flakey… Like really flakey. We had one day where every single appointment and back up appointment dropped on us and so we went tracting and got yelled at for tracting in the dark. Some days are good, some days are weird, and some days are bad.
My favorite color is blue. πŸ™‚ and I need some of the hair and body wash sometime soon so whenever you feel like sending that.
You should let me know what things I should make to eat…because I’m here and completely forgot everything I like to eat. And I don’t want to eat crap, I want to eat semi healthy. And I have to make up for the Pork Spine taste in my mouth sometimes.
Oh! My first lesson I taught was actually to a guy who spoke English. Cool, right? I’ve come to the conclusion that I was called Spanish speaking to get me out of my comfort zone. I have no idea what to say, and in English I’m fine! Like yesterday I actually had to teach the youth during sunday school (they all spoke english) and I was completely fine with teaching a lesson I’d never prepared and talking for a while. I can’t do that in Spanish though….So that’s the conclusion I’ve come to.
Oh fun fact. My area in the mission is the deadest part of the mission. No one baptizes here and everyone is pessimistic about it, except me. πŸ™‚ There aren’t that many members in out mission area though so we have a hard time getting referrals which is what most missionaries get. The Spanish work is actually suffering in our mission. Pres Sagers doesnt want any new spanish missionaries until the work picks up. That’s why out of the 26 people who came tuesday, only 2 were spanish.
So I have my work cut out for me πŸ™‚
Oh!!! Cool thing I found out. Apparently if I read the Book of Mormon in spanish all the way through, by the time I’m done I will be fluent in Spanish (or at least close!). It’s a promise made by Gordon B. Hinkley πŸ™‚ So I’m starting to do that. πŸ™‚
So I’m gonna be here for the next 3 months at least for my training, and then I’ll probably stay another transfer after that.
So I’m only allotted $135 a month for everything I need…so I don’t know how long that’s going to last. So I’m sure I’d be ok with you sending like boxes of mac and cheese or whatever is packageable friendly. πŸ™‚ hahah
I love you all soooooooooooooooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear from you and call you on Mother’s day. πŸ™‚ well I can wait, and I’m not getting trunky, but it’s exciting. πŸ™‚ Oh and I’m in charge of the cell phone we have……. I don’t like it……. I thought I’d like a phone but nope. Not when I’m here. who wouldn’t guessed, right?! hahah πŸ™‚
Love y’all!
Elder Josh Andersen πŸ™‚
So I have Joshs address but dont want to just post it here for the world to see, so if you want to write him, which I know he would love and appreciate please email me and I will give it to you-just to protect my missionary, ya know?!
Leave a Reply

