Happy Hump Day-This week Josh will have been out a YEAR!!!

 

So this week was interesting. 🙂 Pday was fun. Kinda crazy going and getting things ready for Elder Y’s new companion and stuff. All of our plans fell through that night so that was fun 😛 and then we had to clean and try to move what we could over to Elder Y’s apartment. But we didn’t finish and so we had to continue doing that Tuesday morning. And besides, some stuff we couldn’t move like his bed and some of his food. But yea, and then also shopping was crazy because we couldn’t find anything in Walmart because they change everything SO often. So we went around the store like 5 times looking for different stuff.

Tuesday we did studies and everything and then we kept doing stuff for Elder Y’s apartment. We had to be in Hurst at 2, so we had to leave at 12:45 with our ride there. So before 12:45 we tried to help move stuff and clean stuff and what not. Since his apartment hadn’t been lived in for 3 weeks, it was a mess and it was fun. 🙂 haha we ended up getting to Hurst exactly at 2 and so we went inside the stake center expecting President to be there with the new missionary, but he wasn’t….but there were other missionaries there! haha I saw Elder Nand Elder Bwith a few other missionaries I know. They had interviews with President and he was late for them…by an hour. I guess he didn’t let them know that he was picking up a new missionary and would be late. 🙂 haha but President finally got there, around 3:20. 🙂 Not too late, right? Mormon standard time!

The new missionary is Elder M. He was born in the Marshall Islands, so he knows Marshallese, but he grew up in Hawaii and then moved to California and went to the MTC from there. So he did go to the MTC for 2 weeks and then came here. He is pretty cool and super chill! The first day his greenyness was on fire!!! It was soooooo funny and awesome!!! He was like, “Yea we’re going to baptize the entire state of Texas!!!!” It was awesome to be around that. 🙂 On the way home the member who took us to Hurst took us to this Texas BBQ and it was SUPER good!!!! BBQ here is good. 🙂 And thankfully I haven’t had it for a while, so it was good and not boring. 🙂 Then we got home and went our separate ways. Elder B and I went and stopped by a bunch of different people to set up appointments with them. And Elder Y and Elder M started their adventure as bike elders. 🙂 haha and it was a COLD day. So we eventually came and picked them up before we went in because they were too cold. And they were walking because Elder M doesn’t have a bike. So this last week Elder M has had to borrow my bike because he doesn’t have one

Wednesday we had district meeting and that was alright. Afterwards we came home and started going through our area book because we’re going to be going by a lot of the former investigators that are in our area book. So we had to sort that out (and we still aren’t finished) a little bit and then we went by a few people. Oh! Yea that was also New Year’s Day and so we went by this one family who is like halfway between less active and active in the church because it was one of the kids birthdays and so we went there and had dinner and stuff.

Thursday was planning and then we went by more former investigators. That night we actually went by S (I think I’ve talked about her and her family) and we went with that one family who I just talked about. Well, two of them. L and her younger brother E came with us. They are the most active ones in their family. And L is in Young Women’s so we brought her so that she could help talk to S about the YW’s program and stuff. 🙂 That night we also taught S’s sister in law D who seems really interested in the Gospel. And you can tell that Satan does not want this family in the church or something because they were going to come, but then some family emergency happened and someone in D’s family went to the hospital and so they couldn’t come to church. 😛 D is going to be S’s ride and stuff because her parents aren’t too supportive. But yea that was a good lesson. 🙂

Friday was kinda boring. But we did go to do Mormon.org and stuff and I was on Family Search and how cool is this!!! Through Grandma Holmes’ side we are related to a few of the Roman Emperors!!!! The furthest I could go back was 42 B.C. Ain’t that cool?! Anyway. Saturday was interesting. So we had ward correlation and the ward missionaries actually came! And we had a few appointments that were solid…or we thought so…but then they weren’t and then we got dropped by this one family who I thought was solid! 😛 sad day but then we kept going by past investigators and had some luck with that. 🙂 Then that night we taught A and A and that was a fun lesson!!! We watched the Testaments and had a good time. 🙂 Then we answered like a TON of questions that they had. 🙂 I love it because they just soak EVERYTHING up. 🙂 and then the other lessons we had that night kinda punched…. 😛

Then yesterday was an awesome Fast and Testimony meeting! It was just a good day. 🙂 Fasting was good and fun (kinda tempting since I made a cake for A’s bday cuz that was yesterday too but I resisted!! and they fasted too which was awesome!!!) We’ve been asked as missionaries to always bear our testimonies whenever fast Sunday comes up, so I did that, BUT this time I did it moreso because I felt like I should! It was that “butterflies in your stomach, you better go up there” kinda feeling. 🙂 It was good. So I did…haha 🙂 And it was cool because obviously I said something I needed to because a few people actually came up to me afterwards and talked to me about what I said. 🙂 As long as I’m an instrument in the Lord’s hands that is all that matters. 🙂 So I’ll do all I can to serve him and touch the lives of others that He wants me to touch. 🙂 Afterwards we had an exchange with Brother L, our Ward Mission Leader, and so I was stressed because we had appointments, but they weren’t as solid as I wished they were. The first house they didn’t answer, the second answered but she wasn’t feeling up to it because of what happened the night before, and then finally the third door let us in!! haha 🙂 And then we had a lesson with A and A and A’s cousin was actually there….so switch of plans!! haha we taught her the Restoration instead of the lesson we prepared. 🙂 haha gotta be ready for those! But that was awesome and her cousin, G, was super interested and wants to come to church next week. 🙂 Then we had dinner with the B’ and that was good. 🙂 Then we had a lesson with Sister B and her sons. We watched Finding Faith In Christ and then talked about it. It’s interesting….we’re not going to be teaching her sons (because that’s the English elders job) but because we are there for Sister B, we’re still going over there…..yea it’s confusing. 🙂 haha but tonight we’re actually doing a family night with them and watching 17 Miracles. 🙂 I’m excited for that! But yea, it was a good end of the week.

The only down side was that no one went to church.  

OH!!!! I almost forgot!!!! A GOT THE PRIESTHOOD!!!!!! We ordained him yesterday after church!!!!! 🙂 It was AMAZING!!!!!!! He’s sooooo excited and he can’t wait to use it to bless others! 🙂 Yea they are like the most amazing people ever! 🙂

 

Except! I do need more chocolate protein! 🙂 Since I’ve been working out harder in the mornings, and so the protein is actually doing more for me, I’ve been using a little bit more than usual. 🙂 But it’s showing. 🙂 hahahaha

And YES! For Hump Day I burn a shirt. 🙂 So I will be doing that and hopefully we’ll go somewhere to eat that day. 🙂 I’m making one of my shirts tye dye today! hahaha 🙂 Hopefully, if we don’t forget. 🙂 And yes, I have enough shirts that I can tye dye one and burn another and still be ok. 🙂 I have an amazing family that helped prepare me before my mission. 🙂

 

And Thank you for the Chili’s gift card when I get it!!! 🙂 🙂 I love y’all!!!

 

So yea, that was my week. 🙂 Nothing special, nothing not special. I set some good goals for the next year too. 🙂 BTW look up Proverbs 29:18. Good Scripture for the new year. 🙂 And I like the term “goals” better than “new year’s resolution.” I feel like “goals” are accomplished more often. 🙂

I love y’all sooooo much!!! Love you to the moon and back forever and ever and always and for eternity and I can’t remember what else we’ve added to that list!! 🙂 haha

 

Elder Josh Andersen 🙂Image

Leave a Reply

