Joshs Testimony part 2

Enos 1:4

4 And my soul hungered; and I kneeled down before my Maker, and I cried unto him in mighty prayer and supplication for mine own soul; and all the day long did I cry unto him; yea, and when the night came I did still raise my voice gigh that it reached the heavens.

Prayer changed my mission. Prayer changed me! Being able to know tha ti can literally talk to my Father in Heaven whenever I need to has been such a blessin. I have pleaseded  for my own soul. I have pleaded for others. I have prayed so much that two pairs of pants got holes in the knees and had to be thrown out. It has been a source of divine help in times of trial and it has also been a great tool for me to be abel to thank my God for all He has done for me. Growing up my mom used ot always say that we should pray always, even if we didn’t wan to, and if we didn’t want to we should pray until we want to. I agree with that with all of my heart. But I want to add to it, that you should pray until it changes you! Prayer has the power to do that.

Moroni 10:4-5

4 And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost     5 And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.

The Book of Mormon is the word of God and the only way to receive that knowledge is by putting the promise found in Moroni 10:4-5 to the test. Growing up my dad and I would watch the discovery channel and we enjoyed talking about science and history. A reoccuring topic that we talked about a lot was how no one can ever prove that something does not exist; he or she can only prove that something does exist. That’s why I love Moroni’s promise because he tells us to ask, “if these thing are not true.” To prove something does not exist is technically impossible because new discoveries could theoretically disprove the first conclusion made, and vice versa, but either way effort is required.  Work is required to find out if the Book of Mormon is not true. Ironically enough, thourough investigation of this sacred book will more often than not lead a person to believe it to be true as long as they search with sincerity, real intent, and they have faith in Christ. If a person does exactly what is asked of them, they will receive  a witness from God that he Book of Mormon is true. I have seen it time and time again on my mission. I have also applied it to myself and I know personally that the Book of Mormon is true. Knowing that the Book of Mormon is true leads to a person knowing that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God. It also leads that person to know that Christ has restored his church to the earth through him.

I know the Book of Mormon is true and my testimony is based on that knwledge. I have heard many things over the course of my mission about the “Mormon church” and “Joseph Smith” and many other things. There have been times when I have pondered if this is the true church, and there have been times when I questioned what I beleied. But , like President Uchtdorf has counseled, I have doubted my doubts before I have doubted my faith. And I have  stayed strong to my testimony of the Book of Mormon. I remember one night after being “anti-ed”, I sat on my bed and literally had to say to myself out loud, “Josh, you know the Book of Mormon is true. What does that mean? That means that Joseph Smith was a prophet , we have God’s authourity in our church which is the restored church. That’s all that matters.” I’m grateful for that testimony because without it, I don’t know where I would be.

Leave a Reply

