Transfers and Training

So this week went by SO FLIPPIN FAST I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE IT WENT!!!!!! Just saying… 🙂
Monday we had a good day going around to all of our different appointments. Pday was fun and not exhausting, but it was tiring. 🙂 We played scatterball (basically dodgeball) for a long time and then we sang a lot around one of the pianos. 🙂 It was a chill day.
Then Tuesday was CRAZY!!! 😀 We had SO many appointments planned and like only 1 of them punched!!!!! I used to not like Tuesdays cuz it was like, “what do we do with so much time?” but since we’ve been able to fill them up with a bunch of appointments that are sticking, they’ve been fun!!! And because we were teaching so much the day went by SO fast. 🙂
Wednesday we had district meeting and it was really fun!!! Since the mission is focusing on improving our studies, I planned this fun role play where we role played nightly planning and planning what we were going to teach our investigators (or the appointments that we had for that day) and then what we needed to study in order to be able to teach these people. 🙂 It was SUCH A SUCCESS!!!! It was SO much fun. 🙂 I loved it!!! And it was cool because Elder W and Elder R had been on exchange the night before and were actually talking about that EXACT thing and how they could get better at it. 🙂 I was like, “sweet so that WAS revelation!!” 🙂 I love those moments. 🙂 Then after district meeting we went and had a zone lunch that was fun. 🙂 I went and brought all of my ties to show people (because I have a lot now….hehe) and then I gave away about 20 ties….and I still have one for every day of the transfer! 🙂 (so yea, I have more than 42) and that was fun. 🙂 Then….when I thought I was in the clear and that nothing was gonna happen that was “special” for the upcoming transfer, I get a call from the Mission Office. So…while in the middle of talking to everyone, I looked down, my face apparently dropped (the other missionaries told me that that’s what happened after), and then I just walked out in the middle of the conversation and walked into the hallway and it was President Ames. 🙂 yup… 🙂 haha and he said he wanted to talk to me and Elder T so I got Elder T with me and then EVERYONE was standing on the other side of the corner in the hallway to hear what was going on. 🙂 haha President told us that we were both going to train a new missionary and that I was going to be the district leader still, but in Waco. He told me I was Whitewashing Waco Spanish!!! So… yea 🙂 The rest of that day is a blur because we were both kinda freaking out that we are training!!! hahaha 🙂 We were like, “holy cow there is a TON of stuff that we need to teach these new guys!! there is about 18 months worth of information in our brains that we need to communicate to them. O.o ” 🙂 but we are really excited!!! We told everyone else that was at the zone lunch and then everyone else started getting calls too! hahaha EVERY companionship except for 1 is being changed in our zone. So…there will be 3 new missionaries, like brand new missionaries, and then there are 3 other missionaries being transferred. And yes, Elder W is being transferred… 😦 but we’ll chill after the mission so it’s all good. 🙂
Thursday we planned for the next week and I got some of my stuff together to take to Waco because we had to go up there that night because of the meeting we had for new trainers on Friday. Thursday night we went out to Belton and we were able to meet a few more of the Hermanas old investigators. It’s just SO hard for us to go out to Belton that much because we don’t have the miles to do it. Like we haven’t been able to find the good balance between biking and not biking and using the car for the appointments that we have and what not. And no one in the branch is helping us with exchanges and driving out to these hard to get places so, it’ll be interesting how things play out here in Temple. Then Thursday night we drove up to Waco because Elder R and Elder G had to go to the new leadership training meeting and we carpooled with them and a member that the Hewitt Sisters found that could give us a ride.
So Friday morning we woke up SUPER early so we could drive in a car for 2 and a half hours to go to a meeting for 2 and a half hours and then drive home for another 3 and a half hours. (that time we had to drive back to Temple) 🙂 At least the meeting was a good amount of time. 🙂 But driving still took forever. So then that night we went by everyone that we could, but not too many people kept their appointments. The meeting was REALLY good though and I feel better prepared for training now. 🙂 Still a bit nervous about the whitewashing aspect of it, even though I’ve been in Waco on exchanges, but it’ll get better. 🙂
Saturday we had a TON of appointments again and some of them fell through, but we were able to teach a ton that day!! And because we were teaching so much, the time just flew by! Which was good, but bad, because now I’m like, “where did this week go?!”
Sunday was a good last Sunday in Temple. 🙂 I was able to get a few pictures with people and it was weird…because on the 20th of September there is a combined Temple, Killeen and Waco branch party/activity, so I’ll be back in Temple for that! So I was like, “no worries y’all, I’ll see you all again soonish.” 🙂 hahaa and we had about 22 people come again. 🙂 but then guess who showed up!! J P!!!!! After 12 weeks of inviting and inviting and everything possible, HE CAME TO CHURCH!!!!!!! 😀 I was SO HAPPY!!!! And he said that he really enjoyed it too and how he felt in Sacrament Meeting!!! 😀 I was thrilled, you have NO idea!!! Then after dinner we were able to teach a few people and had some good lessons. 🙂
But that was our week!!! 🙂
At the meeting on Friday there were a lot of pictures taken, so you’ll probably be able to see me a few times on Sister Ames’ blog. 🙂 And I also gave President Ames my other Texas Flag tie. 🙂 there is probably a picture of that…hahaha
But yea so I’m excited but will definitely be needing the prayers please!! 🙂 I and my new missionary (which I won’t find out who it is until Wednesday morning when President Ames tells us) will need the help because we’ll both be new in the Waco area. 🙂 We’ll need all the help that we can get from heaven!!
But anyway, I love you to the moon and back forever and ever and always!!! 🙂 I have about 15 minutes left. 🙂
love you!
Elder Josh Andersen 🙂
So I also failed to mention that there are 31 new missionaries coming into the mission, 8 are Spanish speaking, 4 elders, 4 hermanas, so this transfer will be Crazy!!!!
Tuesday night I am taking all of my stuff in our car and driving up to Waco because we are spending the night at their place again because of how rides are working out. So all of my stuff will be there. And then we have to drive up to Hurst and get our new missionaries and then we have to drive back and then we get to start working in Waco and figuring things out because we’ll have no real plans or know what to do. 🙂 So…I have a plan of what we’ll do, so I’ll make it work. 🙂 But just pray for my new companion and that we get along and that he is willing to learn and that we have a great time together!!!

Leave a comment